You are here: Home - Group Watch - December 2018 Group Watch: News & Views from the State House

December 2018 Group Watch: News & Views from the State House

The holidays are upon us, but there’s still plenty happening in Alabama’s political scene, including several recent key staff announcements:
  • Governor Kay Ivey makes staff appointments. Governor Ivey announced that former Congressman Jo Bonner would serve in her administration as senior advisor. Bonner represented the 1st Congressional District in southwest Alabama from 2003 to 2013. The governor also announced that Kelly Butler would be state finance director. He has been Acting Finance Director since August. Butler has more than three decades experience as a fiscal analyst with the state. His previous jobs include assistant finance director for fiscal operations and state budget officer.
  • Marsh taps new chief of staff. Senate President Pro Tempore Del Marsh recently announced that he has chosen Derek Trotter, a government relations advisor to the Butler Snow law firm and former director of legislative affairs to former Governor Robert Bentley, to be his chief of staff. Trotter previously served as Marsh’s communications director from 2011 to 2014 and as a deputy communications director to U. S. Representative Bradley Byrne during his run for governor in 2009 and 2010. Trotter is a native of Trussville and a graduate of Auburn University. He is married and the father of two and lives in the Pike Road Township, just outside Montgomery.
  • Shelby’s Chief of Staff chosen to lead BCA. U.S. Senator Richard Shelby, R-Alabama, recently announced the departure of his chief of staff, Katie Boyd Britt, following the official notice of her decision to serve as president and CEO of the Business Council of Alabama (BCA), a non-partisan business association representing companies throughout the state. Britt is a native of Enterprise. She’s served as chief of staff to Senator Shelby since 2016, following her role as deputy campaign manager and communications director during the senator’s most recent reelection campaign. Britt earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in political science and a law degree from the University of Alabama.
  • Check out the full list of recent House Committee appointments made by the Speaker. House Standing Committees with Chairs and Vice Chairs listed:


Chairman Mike Jones (R – Andalusia) and Vice Chair Paul Lee (R – Dothan)

Consent Calendar Subcommittee: Chairwoman Pebblin Warren (D – Tuskegee)

Ways and Means Education

Chairman Bill Poole (R – Tuscaloosa) and Vice Chair Danny Garrett (R – Trussville)

Ways and Means General Fund

Chairman Steve Clouse (R – Ozark) and Vice Chair Kyle South (R – Fayette)

 Agriculture and Forestry

Chairman Danny Crawford (R – Athens) and Vice Chair Steve Hurst (R – Munford)

Boards, Agencies, and Commissions

Chairman Howard Sanderford (R – Huntsville) and Vice Chair Mike Holmes (R – Wetumpka)

Children and Senior Advocacy

Chairman K.L. Brown (R – Jacksonville) and Vice Chair Randall Shedd (R – Cullman)

Commerce and Small Business

Chairman Jim Carns (R – Vestavia) and Vice Chair Dimitri Polizos (R – Montgomery)

Constitution, Campaigns, and Elections

Chairman Matt Fridy (R – Montevallo) and Vice Chair Bob Fincher (R – Woodland)

County and Municipal Government

Chairman Reed Ingram (R – Montgomery) and Vice Chair Margie Wilcox (R – Mobile)

Economic Development and Tourism

Chairwoman Becky Nordgren (R – Gadsden) and Vice Chair Ron Johnson (R – Sylacauga)

Education Policy

Chairwoman Terri Collins (R – Decatur) and Vice Chair Danny Garrett (R – Trussville)

Ethics and Campaign Finance

Chairman Mike Ball (R – Madison) and Vice Chair Rich Wingo (R – Tuscaloosa)

Financial Services

Chairman Chris Blackshear (R – Phenix City) and Vice Chair Jimmy Martin (R – Clanton)

Fiscal Responsibility

Chairman Chris Sells (R – Greenville) and Vice Chair Mike Holmes (R – Wetumpka)


Chairwoman April Weaver (R – Brierfield) and Vice Chair Ron Johnson (R – Sylacauga)


Chairman Kerry Rich (R – Albertville) and Vice Chair Corley Ellis (R – Columbiana)

Internal Affairs

Chairman Randy Wood (R – Anniston) and Vice Chair Nathaniel Ledbetter (R – Rainsville)


Chairman Jim Hill (R – Odenville) and Vice Chair Tim Wadsworth (R – Arley)

Local Legislation

Chairman Alan Baker (R – Brewton) and Vice Chair Ritchie Whorton (R – Valley)

Military and Veterans Affairs 

Chairman Dickie Drake (R – Leeds) and Vice Chair Connie Rowe (R – Jasper)

Public Safety and Homeland Security

Chairman Allen Treadaway (R – Morris) and Vice Chair Allen Farley (R – McCalla)

 State Government Chairman Chris Pringle (R – Mobile) and Vice Chair Chris Sells (R – Greenville)

Technology and Research

Chairman Joe Lovvorn (R – Auburn) and Vice Chair Corey Harbison (R – Good Hope)

Transportation, Utilities, and Infrastructure

Chairman Lynn Greer (R – Rogersville) and Vice Chair Joe Faust (R – Fairhope)

Urban and Rural Development

Chairman Randall Shedd (R – Cullman) and Vice Chair David Standridge (R – Hayden)

Comments are closed.

The Bloom Group, Inc.

401 Adams Avenue, Suite 710
Montgomery, Alabama 36104
Telephone: (334) 244-8948
Fax: (334) 213-0688

Live Audio Feed

Listen to your senators and representatives at work. Click here to find links to live audio of the House and audio plus video of the Senate.

Alabama Civil Justice Reform Committee

Alabama Civil Justice Reform Committee

The News You Need

Find the latest information on all things Alabama politics on Alabama Today.