You are here: Home - Group Watch - January 31, 2022 Group Watch: Changes in House Committees

January 31, 2022 Group Watch: Changes in House Committees

Alabama House Speaker Mac McCutcheon announced several changes in the House committee leadership structure that were prompted by resignations and vacancies. Rep. Andy Whitt was appointed chairman of the House Economic Development and Tourism Committee following the resignation of former Rep. Becky Nordgren, who left the Legislature in order to fill her newly elected role as Etowah County revenue commissioner. State Rep. Ginny Shaver will replace Whitt as vice chair of the Economic Development and Tourism Committee. Rep. Alan Baker has stepped down as chair of the Local Legislation Committee in order to become the vice chair of the Rules Committee, where he replaces Rep. Connie Rowe, who resigned from the Legislature to work for Lt. Governor Will Ainsworth. Baker has also been appointed vice chair of the Education Policy Committee, a position previously held by Rep. Danny Garrett, who was recently appointed chair of the Ways and Means Education budget-writing committee. Rep. Rex Reynolds of Huntsville, will replace Baker as chair of the local Legislation Committee and will assume the position of vice chair of the Military and Veterans Affairs Committee, which was previously held by Connie Rowe.

Comments are closed.

The Bloom Group, Inc.

401 Adams Avenue, Suite 710
Montgomery, Alabama 36104
Telephone: (334) 244-8948
Fax: (334) 213-0688

Live Audio Feed

Listen to your senators and representatives at work. Click here to find links to live audio of the House and audio plus video of the Senate.

Alabama Civil Justice Reform Committee

Alabama Civil Justice Reform Committee

The News You Need

Find the latest information on all things Alabama politics on Alabama Today.